Western Astrology 

 can give information in relation to earthly issues, individual affairs or personality !

Western astrology is the system of astrology most popular in Western countries. Western astrology is historically based on Ptolemy’s Tetrabiblos (2nd century AD), which in turn was a continuation of Hellenistic and ultimately Babylonian traditions.
Western astrology is largely horoscopic, that is, it is a form of divination based on the construction of a horoscope for an exact moment, such as a person’s birth, in which various cosmic bodies are said to have an influence. Astrology in western popular culture is often reduced to sun sign astrology, which considers only the individual’s date of birth Because astrology has failed in predictions when under scientific tests, it is generally regarded as pseudoscientific.
Western Astrology is the study of the energetic influences of celestial bodies. Western Astrology refers to a system of astrology based on twelve constellations: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces.

The twelve signs :

In modern Western astrology the signs of the zodiac are believed to represent twelve basic personality types or characteristic modes of expression. The twelve signs are divided into four elements fire, earth, air and water. Fire and air signs are considered masculine, while water and earth signs are considered feminine.The twelve signs are also divided into three qualities, Cardinal, fixed and mutable.

Sign Approximate dates of Sun signs Element Quality
Aries.svg Aries The Ram March 21 to April 19 Fire Cardinal
Taurus.svg Taurus The Bull April 20 to May 20 Earth Fixed
Gemini.svg Gemini The Twins May 21 to June 21 Air Mutable
Cancer.svg Cancer The Crab June 22 to July 22 Water Cardinal
Leo.svg Leo The Lion July 23 to August 22 Fire Fixed
Virgo.svg Virgo The Virgin August 23 to September 22 Earth Mutable
Libra.svg Libra The Scales September 23 to October 23 Air Cardinal
Scorpio.svg Scorpio The Scorpion October 24 to November 20 Water Fixed
Sagittarius.svg Sagittarius The Archer November 21 to December 22 Fire Mutable
Capricorn.svg Capricorn The Sea Goat December 23 to January 20 Earth Cardinal
Aquarius.svg Aquarius The Water Bearer January 21 to February 21 Air Fixed
Pisces.svg Pisces The Fish February 22 to March 20 Water



Zodiac sign for an individual depends on the placement of planets and the ascendant in that sign. If a person has nothing placed in a particular sign, that sign will play no active role in their personality. On the other hand a person with, for example, both the sun and moon in Cancer, will strongly display the characteristics of that sign in their make up.

The Planets :

In modern Western astrology the planets represent basic drives or impulses in the human psyche. These planets differ from the definition of a planet in astronomy in that the sun, moon, and recently, Pluto and Ceres (considered as dwarf planets in astronomy), are all considered to be planets for the purposes of astrology. Each planet is also said to be the ruler of one or two zodiac signs. The three modern planets have each been assigned rulership of a zodiac sign by astrologers and Ceres has been suggested as the ruler of Taurus or Virgo.[14] Traditionally rulership of the signs was, according to Ptolemy, based on seasonal derivations and astronomical measurement, whereby the luminaries being the brightest planets were given rulership of the brightest months of the year and Saturn the coldest furthest classical planet was given to the coldest months of the year, with the other planets ruling the remaining signs as per astronomical measurement.

Classical planets :

The astrological ‘planets’ are the seven heavenly bodies known to the ancients. The sun and moon, also known as ‘the lights’, are included as they were thought to act like the astronomical planets. Astrologers call Mercury, Venus and Mars the ‘personal planets’, as they represent the most immediate drives. The ‘lights’ symbolise respectively the existential and sensitive fundamentals of the individuality.

Traditional planets with their rulership of signs and effects on people and the world

Symbol Planet Rules the sign Effect on world events Person’s nature Effect in life Effect in earth
Sun symbol.svg Sun Leo Wisdom, generosity, ‘sunny’ disposition Good fortune Gold
Moon symbol crescent.svg Moon Cancer Wandering Travel, lunacy Silver
Mercury symbol.svg Mercury Gemini and Virgo Action Changeability, eagerness, quickness, ‘mercurial’ temperament Rapid change Mercury (quicksilver)
Venus symbol.svg Venus Libra and Taurus Fortunate events Beauty, amorousness Good luck Copper
Mars symbol.svg Mars Aries, classically also Scorpio War Strength, endurance, ‘martial’ temperament Conflicts, misfortune Iron
Jupiter symbol.svg Jupiter Sagittarius, classically also Pisces Good times, prosperity Cheerful, magnanimous, ‘jovial’ temperament Good fortune Tin
Saturn symbol.svg Saturn Capricorn, classically also Aquarius Disastrous events Melancholy, ‘saturnine’ temperament Accidents, disease, treachery, bad luck Lead

Comparison Between Vedic Astrology & Western Astrology

Vedic astrology is comparably more deep, wide, and accurate than Western Astrology in execution of its function of astrology. Western Astrology is more about accentuating the psychological traits of an individual, and less or almost negligible about predicting future events. However, Vedic Astrology is also about accentuating the psychological aspects of an individual, but also scores equally effective in forecasting the events of the coming time. Also, it gives a more transparent view of an individual’s possible Karmic tendencies, i.e. whether he will engage in Paap (sins) or Punya (virtues). Vedic astrology also intimately tells about the different situations which are possibly going to arise at different points of time in a person’s life.

Vedic Astrology holds its roots to the ancient times, more precisely supported by the Vedas, the ancient spiritual texts of the Hindu religion and probably the oldest texts of the world as written about 5000 to 8000 years ago, which mentions about it. Western astrology is said to be developed at around 2000 to 3000 years ago by the Greeks and Babylonians.
Western Astrology is based on the relationship shared between the Sun and the Earth. This approach is based on the belief that since Sun is the centre of the Solar System, therefore Sun is more important to Earth than any other mystical body. Western astrology makes astrological predictions on the basis of the relationship as measured between the Sun and the tropics of the Earth, which are Tropic of Cancer and Tropic of Capricorn.
Vedic astrology or Indian astrology is completely different from Western astrology. Vedic astrology does not have any standard to be put into use for depicting starting and end of a year. Vedic Astrology is based on the positioning of stars and planets, as well as the interrelations shared by them. It does not solely rely on the relationship in between the Sun and the Earth on its reason that Earth is rotating as well as revolving, which results in a change of its equinoxes (the time of equality between day and night) by around 50 seconds in a year, which makes it to an impact of a shift of a day in every 72 years. In that case, this relationship gets naturally affected. The signs are required to be shifted one day back in order to sustain the logic of astrology. This aspect makes Vedic Astrology much more accurate and precise than Western astrology.

Comments are closed.